March 17 is the day when Clearwater voters will select a new mayor and two City Council members. Three men and one woman are running to succeed former mayor George Cretekos. Running for mayor are: Retired accountant and former four-term city council member Bill Jonson … attorney and environmental activist Elizabeth Drayer … business owner Morton Myers and former mayor Frank Hibbard.

Voters will also select two new City Council members. The City Council (Seat 2) race features: Retired technology supervisor Eliseo Santana … Attorney Bruce Rector … filmmaker Mark Bunker … and business owners Mike Mannino and Lina Teixeira.

The Four candidates battling for Seat 3 include: Incumbent Bob Cundiff … Retired teacher Kathleen Beckman … business owner Bud Elias and human resources director Scott Thomas.

Voters will be electing officials who will make decisions on several critical issues in 2020 including the fate of the Imagine Clearwater project, choosing a new city manager, climate change problems and dealing with the city’s relationship with the Church of Scientology.

Clearwater’s mayor and City Council members serve four-year terms with the mayor having one vote on the five-member council. The mayor earns $27,546 annually. The four council members earn $22,955 annually.

If you are a registered voter in Clearwater, please let your voice be heard and go to the poles on March 17!